News Archive

March 7, 2011

For the third consecutive season, Hill-Murray's state title run ended in overtime. Hill-Murray got a few bounces along the way in winning the previous five section titles, but that luck ended Friday night. Congrats to White Bear.

The 2011 Pioneers achieved much as a team. They had the second perfect record in the 10 year history of the Classic Suburban, and won the Schwan Cup Gold Division for the first time. Their mark of 185 goals scored against 44 allowed is one of the best in school history. By most accounts, they were one of the 2-3 best high school teams in the regular season if not the best. You did yourselves proud.

David LaVaque of the Star Tribune completed a four part series on this season of Hill-Murray hockey. You can find the articles here.

February 19, 2011

Hill-Murray is the 2011 Classic Suburban Champion

Hill-Murray ends the regular season with the most goals among all AA teams, second fewest goals against, and is tied for first in wins for the second consecutive season.

Bookends: Hill-Murray scored its first empty net goal of the season in its last regular season game. The Pioneers allowed one empty net goal, in their first game.

Depth extraordinaire: Every Hill-Murray skater has at least 1 goal and 7 points. Eleven forwards have at least 6 goals. 13 players have 16 or more points. 8 have 28 or more.

Congrats to Hill-Murray Girls Hockey on the program's first section championship. Their state tournament is February 24-26.

February 12, 2011

After a memorable weekend in Moorhead, the Pioneers now set their sights on the Classic Suburban title. Hill-Murray is 12-0 in conference play and leads St. Thomas Academy by one game.

Past Classic Suburban Champions
2002 - Hill-Murray (14-0-2)
2003 - North St. Paul (14-2)
2004 - Hill-Murray (16-0)
2005 - Tartan (14-2)
2006 - Hill-Murray (15-1)
2007 - Hill-Murray and St. Thomas Academy (15-1)
2008 - Hill-Murray (14-1-1)
2009 - St. Thomas Academy (13-1-2)
2010 - Hill-Murray (15-1)

Article by Bob Sansevere on Hill-Murray's trip north

Hill-Murray teams are unbeaten in games televised by FSN, dating back to 2006 (8-0-1). Hill-Murray teams are 12-1 when wearing black uniforms, dating to 2008.

February 10, 2011

Hill-Murray will take its game outdoors on Saturday for a game broadcast live on FSN. Hill-Murray and Moorhead have alternated wins against each other the last five years; the game is traditionally on the final day of the regular season but was moved up one week for the festivities. The Pioneers' 11-game win streak has solidified their spot atop a deep list of the state's best teams, while Moorhead is again a strong contender for the Section 8AA title.

January 22, 2011

Due to the December snowstorm, Hill-Murray and St. Thomas Academy play twice in the final month of the season. Round 1 is Thursday at Aldrich. These two schools have been 1-2 in the conference the past five years and are both currently undefeated in conference play.

Saturday's win was the most goals scored by a Hill-Murray team since a 17-2 win against Brooklyn Center in the first round of the 1991 playoffs.

January 20, 2011

Saturday's game vs. Henry Sibley is at 3 p.m, not 8 as previously listed.

January 1, 2011

Hill-Murray is the 2010-11 Schwan Cup Gold Division Champion.

The Pioneers defeated Minnetonka for the first time in four seasons after falling behind 3-1 early in the second period. The school's last holiday tournament title was the Silver Division in 2005-06.

Hill-Murray also came from behind in the third period to tie Edina, then advanced to the final with a 1-0 shootout win with Bobby Bruski scoring. That was the second shootout win in school history; the first came in 2006-07 and was also 1-0, the goal by Nick Larson.

Next up is another Lake Conference opponent, Eden Prairie, which won the St. Louis Park tournament and might have the state's #1 ranking by the time the holiday tournaments are sorted out.

December 24, 2010

Hill-Murray faces a tough draw in the holiday tournament, opening with two-time defending Class A champion Breck. Full bracket here.

December 11, 2010

The Dec. 11 game at St. Thomas Academy has been postponed. Rescheduled for the final Saturday of the regular season, February 19.

December 6, 2010

Pioneer hockey alumni currently playing junior, college, or professional hockey with last year at Hill-Murray, current team and league. Three members of the 2008 state championship team began Division 1 careers this season - Bo Dolan, Ryan Furne, and Dan Sova. A full list of Hill-Murray college alumni is here.

Brian Arrigoni (2006), Hamline (MIAC D3)
Jay Cascalenda (2004), Bakersfield (ECHL)
Chris Casto (2010), Lincoln (USHL)
Dan Cecka (2008), Wisconsin-Stout (NCHA D3)
Bo Dolan (2008), R.P.I. (ECAC D1)
Willie Faust (2010), Owatonna (NAHL)
Ryan Furne (2008), Michigan Tech (WCHA D1)
Gabe Guentzel (2006), Colorado College (WCHA D1)
Ryan Guentzel (2005), Notre Dame (CCHA D1)
Mike Hoeffel (2006), Minnesota (WCHA D1)
Jordan Johnson (2010), Fresno (NAHL)
Brian Kaufman (2002), Bloomington, IN (CHL)
Isaac Kohls (2009), Muskegon (USHL)
Nick Larson (2007), Minnesota (WCHA D1)
Jim McKenzie (2000), Stockton (ECHL)
Erik Morrow (2005), St. Olaf (MIAC D3)
Joe Phillippi (2008), Fairbanks (NAHL)
Paul Prescott (2009), Aberdeen (NAHL)
Nick Pryor (2006), Maine (Hockey East D1)
Andy Singerhouse (2008), Owatonna (NAHL)
Bryant Skarda (2006), Army (Atlantic Hockey D1)
Dan Sova (2008), Michigan Tech (WCHA D1)
Vince Unklesbay (2006), St. Mary’s (MIAC D3)
Jack Walsh (2010), Austin (NAHL)
Nick Widing (2009), Owatonna (NAHL)
Tyler Zepeda (2009), Waterloo (USHL)

December 2, 2010

Benilde-St. Margaret's is having a Toys for Tots drive during Saturday's game. More info here.

November 20, 2010

Pioneer hockey begins its 51st season Nov 27. Something that hasn't been seen since the first 5 seasons is scheduled this year - an outdoor game. Moorhead will host Hill-Murray and Hockey Day Minnesota on Feb 12. There are plenty of other good games; check the schedule link for full info.

Copyright 1999-2024