News Archive

March 11, 2012

Hill-Murray is the 2012 State Runner-up. After a 5-2 win over twice-previously beaten Maple Grove and a 2-1 overtime win over Moorhead, Hill-Murray wound up on the wrong end of junior forward Grant Besse's historic five goal performance in the championship game. The Pioneers and Red Knights have developed a spirited rivalry in their regular season games over the past decade, a rivalry that now appears will become even stronger, although Hill and Benilde teams have actually been battling one another for 50 years going back to the old Central Catholic Conference. Conrad Sampair, Blake Heinrich, and Sam Becker were named to the all-tournament team.

The 2012 Pioneers improved dramatically after a slow start against one of the toughest non-conference schedules they have ever faced. In conference play, Hill-Murray won its third consecutive title and twice defeated St. Thomas Academy which won its second Class A championship in as many years.

March 10, 2012

Hill-Murray's season began with a 3-2 loss to Benilde-St. Margaret's, one of four early season losses that put their record at 4-4. 100 days later, those two teams will play for a state championship. Hill-Murray's twelfth consecutive victory required overcoming a third period deficit against an outstanding goalie and Moorhead defense that had not surrendered a goal in its previous six periods. Although the state tournament record book lists Edina as playing in the most overtime games in tournament history with 14, the semifinal win was Hill-Murray's 16th overtime game (overall record 7-9, last win in 2002).

March 2, 2012

Hill-Murray is the 2012 Section 4AA Champion

February 12, 2012

Hill-Murray is the 2012 Classic Suburban Champion

As they did last year, the Pioneers sported pink warm-up jerseys as part of a team-organized breast cancer fundraiser, and raised over $8,000!

Charlie Sampair has been named one of ten Mr. Hockey finalists.

January 20, 2012

Former Hill-Murray players (last year at HM), current team (league)

Brian Arrigoni (2006), Hamline (MIAC D3)
Ben Bahe (2011), Topeka (NAHL)
Kevin Becker (2011), Aberdeen (NAHL)
Bob Bruski (2011), Aberdeen (NAHL)
Chris Casto (2010), Minnesota-Duluth (WCHA D1)
Dan Cecka (2008), Wisconsin-Stout (NCHA D3)
J.D. Cotroneo (2011), Des Moines (USHL)
Bo Dolan (2008), R.P.I. (ECAC D1)
Willie Faust (2010), Odessa (NAHL)
Ryan Furne (2008), Michigan Tech (WCHA D1)
Loren French (2011), Aberdeen (NAHL)
Gabe Guentzel (2006), Colorado College (WCHA D1)
Ryan Guentzel (2005), EHC Klostersee (German Oberliga)
Mike Hoeffel (2006), Albany Devils (AHL)
Jordan Johnson (2010), Springfield (NAHL)
Isaac Kohls (2009), Niagara (Atlantic Hockey D1)
Nick Larson (2007), Minnesota (WCHA D1)
Jim McKenzie (2000), Allen (CHL)
Joe Phillippi (2008), St. Cloud State (WCHA D1)
John Phillippi (2011), Minot (NAHL)
Paul Prescott (2009), Aberdeen (NAHL)
Nick Pryor (2006), Maine (Hockey East D1)
Kevin Schulze (2011), Omaha (USHL)
Tim Shaughnessy (2011), Minot (NAHL)
Andy Singerhouse (2008), Wisconsin-Superior (NCHA D3)
Bryant Skarda (2006), Army (Atlantic Hockey D1)
Dan Sova (2008), Michigan Tech (WCHA D1)
Nick Sova (2011), Minot (NAHL)
Vince Unklesbay (2006), St. Mary's (MIAC D3)
Jack Walsh (2010), Gustavus Adolphus (MIAC D3)
Nick Widing (2009), Hamline (MIAC D3)
Tyler Zepeda (2009), Waterloo (USHL)

Also, thanks for your patience with the technical problems on this site in the past month or so. We hope the bugs are worked out or will be soon.

January 1, 2012

The Pioneer hockey community lost a hero with the passing of Bill Klatt last week at age 64. Klatt was Hill's first true hockey star, and led the 1965 Pioneers to the school's first conference title and a second place trophy in the State Catholic Tourney, which started a proud tradition that continues to this day.

December 24, 2011

Schedule for the holiday tournament Dec 26-28.

November 13, 2011

This year's alumni game is Sat, Dec 31st from 10:00 am - 12:10 pm at Aldrich Arena, with pizza afterward.

50 year commemorative jerseys will be given. Please send year of graduation and jersey number to Tony Reif. Deadline is Dec 16th.

Copyright 1999-2024