1970-1971 Hill Hockey

Independent State 2nd Place
Region 6 Champion
Central Catholic Conference Champion
  • Building on its success from the previous season, Hill went unbeaten in the regular season and seemed poised to win back-to-back championships, but suffered an upset loss to Blake in the final. The unbeaten streak reached 33 games, a mark equaled only once in school history.
  • Four defensemen (Les Larson, Bob Young, Dick Spannbauer, and Dave Langevin) played D1 hockey, as did Pat Conroy, Tim Whisler, and Joe Nelson.
  • This team still holds the school record for most wins in a regular season (23, equaled in 2006) and fewest goals allowed (32).
  • The first two games of the season were part of the Thanksgiving Turkey Trot tourney at Aldrich. Hill also played in the Roseville Tourney at the end of December.

11/25North St. Paul2-1W (OT)Aldrich
11/27White Bear Lake2-2T (OT)Aldrich
11/29Archbishop Brady*8-3WAldrich
12/3Richfield6-2WBloom. Ice Garden
12/4Duluth Cathedral5-1WDuluth Arena
12/13St. Bernard's*16-0WAldrich
12/20St. Thomas Academy*4-1WAldrich
12/21De La Salle*13-1WAldrich
12/23St. Paul Johnson6-0WAldrich
12/28St. Agnes*6-1WAldrich
12/29Alexander Ramsey4-2WRoseville Arena
12/30Mounds View6-2WRoseville Arena
1/1St. Paul Harding4-0WAldrich
1/3Archbishop Brady*6-0WAldrich
1/15Blake5-2WSt. Paul Auditorium
1/17St. Bernard's*11-0WAldrich
1/24St. Thomas Academy*5-0WAldrich
1/27St. Agnes*7-1WMet Center
1/31De La Salle*5-2WAldrich
2/2Frank B. Kellogg4-2WRoseville Arena
2/5Benilde*5-1WGolden Valley Arena
Region 6 Playoffs
2/13Archbishop Brady9-1WBlake Arena
State Independent Tournament
2/18Breck14-0WDuluth Arena
2/19Crookston Cathedral7-0WDuluth Arena
2/21Blake2-4LDuluth Arena

Final Record 26-1-1

Varsity Roster

Coach: Andre Beaulieu

Mark FoleyC12
Dave SpannbauerG10
Gerry Peters11
Mike Horvath10
Mike GibbonsD10
Dave GervaisW10
Gary FlaschG10
Bob GrabowskiW11
John FitzenbergerD12
Bob CunninghamC10
Pat ConroyC12
Tim WhislerC11
Joe NelsonW10
Dick SpannbauerD11
Dave LangevinD11
Fred SimonC12
Tom KurzW12
Les LarsonD12
Tim RussellG12
7Bob YoungD12
12Mike PierceW12

All conference: Pat Conroy, Les Larson, Tim Russell, Fred Simon, Bob Young
All tournament: Pat Conroy, Les Larson, Tim Russell, Fred Simon, Dick Spannbauer, Bob Young
All metro: Pat Conroy, Les Larson, Bob Young

Copyright 1999-2019 hmpioneers.net