1991-1992 Hill-Murray Hockey

State 6th Place
Section 3 Champion
Twin Cities Suburban Champion
  • With 10 players returning from the '91 championship team, Hill-Murray reclaimed the TCS conference title and was the only repeat entry in the '92 tournament field.
  • After overcoming multiple early-season injuries, Hill-Murray defeated Roseville in the final week of the regular season with both teams tied in the conference standings. Roseville also played in Section 3 for the first time, and Hill-Murray won the rubber match in the section final.
  • A teachers' strike in Rochester caused the postponement of the season opener against John Marshall, which was rescheduled Dec. 23 at Roseville Arena.
  • The 5-2 victory over Bloomington Jefferson in the first round of the Met Center holiday tournament would be Jefferson's last loss prior to a two-year, 60 game unbeaten streak.
  • The consolation championship game against Apple Valley was the longest game in school history until 2010, lasting 7:39 into the third overtime. Had it gone another 21 seconds, the teams would have tied and split the consolation trophy.
  • However, the game of the year was against St. Paul Johnson in the section semifinal. Johnson was the fourth top-ten team in Section 3, and physically pounded the flu-ridden Pioneers. After a back-and-forth game, Jason Godbout scored with 2:09 left to force overtime. Over 13 minutes into the second overtime, the winning goal was scored by Chad Brennan, who had lost a contact during a second period collision. It was the sixth straight year the semifinal had gone to overtime, with a total of 11 overtimes being played in those 6 games.
  • After rumblings of a two-class tournament for years, the MSHSL approved a two year, two-tier system beginning in 1992. The league was under heavy pressure from the state legislature to include more teams, and faced strong opposition from coaches regarding both the format and process for choosing it. The final outcome was a two-tier tournament based on seeding, not enrollment. The top eight seeds in each section played in Tier 1, and the bottom 9-11 seeds in Tier 2. Tier 2 champion Greenway ended up as the #8 seed the following year, meaning Tier 1 play against the top seed and an early playoff exit.
  • 1992 might have been the strongest TCS field ever. Hill-Murray finished the season ranked #2 behind Jefferson (both teams had two losses and two ties). White Bear Lake, in Brian Bonin's senior season, tied Jefferson twice but lost four conference games and was seeded third behind Roseville in Section 3. The Bears then lost to heavy underdog Mounds View in the first round. Fourth place Blaine won Section 4 and took third place at state.
  • A much anticipated matchup betwen Hill-Murray and Jefferson loomed in the state semifinal, but Cloquet quietly put together a strong second half, knocked off Hill-Murray in the first tourney game, and had Jefferson on the ropes before allowing a last minute goal and losing in overtime. Jefferson then beat first-time entry Moorhead 6-3 for the state title.

12/10Minnetonka3-3T (OT)Minnetonka Arena
12/12Edina5-3WBraemar Arena
12/17South St. Paul3-1WColiseum
12/21Burnsville4-1WBurnsville Arena
12/23Roch. John Marshall4-2WRoseville Arena
12/26Bloomington Jefferson5-2WMet Center
12/27Anoka6-3WMet Center
12/28White Bear Lake2-4LMet Center
1/9Coon Rapids*4-3WCook Arena
1/16White Bear Lake*3-2W (OT)Aldrich
1/18Forest Lake*6-2WAldrich
1/23Anoka*7-0WAnoka Arena
1/30Blaine*4-4T (OT)Aldrich
2/1Coon Rapids*7-1WAldrich
2/8White Bear Lake*3-1WAldrich
2/13Forest Lake*9-2WForest Lake Arena
2/18Roseville*5-2WRoseville Arena
2/20Blaine*2-1WFogerty Arena
Section 3 Tier I Playoffs
2/28Spring Lake Park8-1WColiseum
3/4St. Paul Johnson6-5W (2OT)Coliseum
3/6Roseville4-2WMet Center
State Tournament
3/12Cloquet3-5LSt. Paul Civic Center
3/13Eden Prairie7-4WSt. Paul Civic Center
3/14Apple Valley4-5L (3OT)St. Paul Civic Center

Final Record 22-4-2

Varsity Roster

Coach: Bob Schwartz
Assistant: Dennis Schueller, Tim DuRose, Dave Schwartz

1Kevin PowellG125' 10" 170
2Dan HurleyF106' 0" 180
3Cory BaronD126' 1" 195
4Jeff BlossomD105' 11" 180
5Nick MaksimenkoD115' 9" 175
6Shawn GosselinD115' 10" 165
7Brent GodboutF116' 1" 185
8Aaron LaszloF115' 10" 155
9Brad DoppF115' 10" 160
10Brad Marshall (A)F125' 10" 150
11Steve PignatoF115' 10" 185
12Chad BrennanC116' 1" 175
14Matt Mauer (C)F126' 0" 175
15Alex HuffF115' 11" 160
16Matt JohnsonF125' 10" 170
17Jason GodboutD105' 11" 185
18Mike GoveronskiF115' 10" 155
19Bryan Zollman (A)F126' 1" 175
20Jerry WukawitzD116' 0" 170
21Dave GilbertG115' 7" 150

Pioneer Press All-state: Jason Godbout, Kevin Powell
Honorable mention: Matt Mauer, Brad Marshall
Star Tribune All-metro team: Jason Godbout, Kevin Powell
Honorable mention: Brad Marshall, Matt Mauer, Bryan Zollman
All-tournament team: Brent Godbout, Jason Godbout

Copyright 1999-2024 hmpioneers.net