2011-2012 Hill-Murray Hockey

State 2nd Place
Section 4AA Champion
Classic Suburban Champion
  • The 2012 Pioneers got off to a slow start following high turnover at defense and a late end to the school's football season. However, they did manage to steal a 2-1 December win over St. Thomas Academy, which, combined with a 5-2 win at STA in January, gave Hill-Murray its third straight CSC crown and a 31 game conference win streak at season's end.
  • The team's best win was a 5-2 thumping of #2 Maple Grove in the state quarterfinal, a team which had won its section final 15-1 a week earlier. In the semifinal, Hill-Murray faced a defensive minded Moorhead team led by the state's top goalie, Michael Bitzer. Trailing 1-0, Conrad Sampair scored the tying goal in the third period and netted the winner in overtime. The celebration had to wait pending a video review after the puck had gone in and out of the net so quickly that the referee had initially signaled no goal.
  • The season was bookended by losses to Benilde-St. Margaret's. In the championship game, stymied on one end by BSM netminder Justin Quale, Hill-Murray had no answer on the other for Grant Besse, who scored five times including three shorthanded goals.
  • Jake Guentzel had one of the finest individual seasons ever by a Pioneer, finishing with 74 points. Close behind were captains Charlie Sampair and Zach LaValle. Junior Blake Heinrich emerged as one of the state's top defensemen, and his defensive partner Sam Becker joined him on the all tournament team despite playing the first third of the season at forward.
  • Guentzel debuted in the NHL for Pittsburgh in 2016-17, and scored a goal on his first shift. The Penguins won the Cup that season, and Guentzel was the leading goal scorer in the playoffs.
  • White Bear Lake lost their section quarterfinal 6-5 in OT to Johnson, after leading 5-1 midway through the third period, meaning the Pioneers and Bears did not play each other in the playoffs for the first time since 2005. Instead, the Pioneers fended off an upset bid from Roseville, reclaiming the section crown with a 3-2 win.

Thu12/1Benilde-St. Margaret's2-3LAldrich7:30
Sat12/3Burnsville2-5LBurnsville Arena3:00
Thu12/8Henry Sibley*12-0WAldrich7:30
Sat12/10St. Thomas Academy*2-1WAldrich7:30
Sat12/17Wayzata4-5L (OT)Aldrich7:30
Thu12/22White Bear Lake7-2WAldrich7:30
Mon12/26Minnetonka3-7LRidder Arena5:30
Tue12/27Blaine4-2WXcel Energy Center2:30
Wed12/28Burnsville4-3W (OT)Super Rink3:30
Sat1/7South St. Paul*6-1WWakota Arena3:00
Thu1/12North St. Paul*3-0WPolar Arena8:00
Tue1/17Eden Prairie3-5LEden Prairie CC7:30
Sat1/21Henry Sibley*14-0WWest St. Paul Arena3:00
Thu1/26St. Thomas Academy*5-2WSt. Thomas Arena7:30
Sat1/28Mahtomedi*7-3WSt. Croix RC3:00
Thu2/2Richfield*16-2WRichfield Arena7:15
Mon2/6Lakeville South5-3WHasse Arena7:00
Thu2/9South St. Paul*8-2WAldrich7:30
Sat2/11North St. Paul*5-4WAldrich7:30
Tue2/14Tartan*5-1WTartan Arena7:30
Section 4AA Playoffs
Sat2/25Tartan6-0WAldrich11 AM
State Tournament
Thu3/8Maple Grove5-2WXcel Energy Center11 AM
Fri3/9Moorhead2-1W (OT)Xcel Energy Center6:00
Sat3/10Benilde-St. Margaret's1-5LXcel Energy Center7:00

Final Record 24-7-0

State Tournament Bracket

Section 4AA Bracket

Classic Suburban Standings

News Archive

Varsity Roster

Coach: Bill Lechner
Assistant: Pat Schafhauser, Tony Ciro

1John DugasG115' 9" 170000
2Shane FinneganD116' 3" 185011
6Jordan SchwandtD115' 10" 170000
7Dan CashmanF126' 0" 1853912
8Zach MillsF95' 9" 150336
9Logan SharpD105' 9" 165224
10Brandon ThompsonF125' 11" 170415
12CJ LaChappelleF115' 10" 160112
14Charlie Sampair (C)F126' 0" 185302151
15Conrad SampairF125' 10" 175121224
16Blake HeinrichD116' 0" 185112536
17Jim TichF115' 9" 170325
18Willie BrownF105' 10" 175171835
19Andy FaustF125' 8" 170163046
20Jake GuentzelF115' 9" 155245074
21Zach LaValle (C)F115' 11" 185283664
22Dan DolanD115' 11" 175044
24Duke Pieper (C)12000
25Ryan BlackD115' 9" 160178
26Tyler FunkF105' 10" 1705611
27Sam BeckerF/D115' 10" 16541317
28Davis ZarembinskiD95' 10" 155202
33Travis NeubeckG116' 1" 175000

GoalieMin.GAGAASavesSave %Record
John Dugas1212612.5753789.818-7-0
Travis Neubeck38091.2116094.76-0-0

Team StatsGoalsGoals/GShotsShots/GPP %PPGESGSHGENG

Mr. Hockey finalist: Charlie Sampair
All tournament team: Conrad Sampair, Blake Heinrich, Sam Becker
AP All-state honorable mention: Charlie Sampair, Blake Heinrich, Jake Guentzel, Zach LaValle

Copyright 1999-2024 hmpioneers.net