2013-2014 Hill-Murray Hockey

Section 4AA 2nd Place
Classic Suburban Co-Champion
  • The Pioneers started 9-0 and were again among the state's top teams, but lost the section final 2-1 on a fluke goal in the third period, with Stillwater earning that school's first ever state tournament appearance.
  • Following the 9-0 start, Hill-Murray had a notable four game stretch. First, they lost the Gold Division final to Edina in a rematch of the 2013 state championship game, despite outshooting the Hornets 37-16. Then they were blanked by Lakeville North and future NHL goalie Jake Oettinger. But they rebounded with back-to-back wins over the state's top two ranked teams, 3-2 over Wayzata and 6-1 over Edina. Edina didn't lose after that and ended up defeating Lakeville North 8-2 for a repeat state title.
  • Sam Illgen made a school record 53 saves in a 4-3 win over Blaine, who made a furious third period charge after falling behind 4-0.
  • The Pioneers wore throwback Hill High School sweaters several times.
  • This was Joey Anderson's last season at Hill-Murray, and his brother Mikey had regular shifts as an eighth grade defenseman. Both won an NCAA championship at Minnesota-Duluth and played in the NHL. One of Joey's shots ripped a hole in an Aldrich Arena net during the Edina game.
  • Other top forwards included Josh French and Mitch Slattery, who worked a power play set play for about 10 goals during the season, until it was scouted by Stillwater during early playoff rounds and failed to work during a late power play in the section final.
  • The last hockey games at the Coliseum were played February 28, with both Blaine and Hill-Murray suffering upset losses in their section finals. Declining use and old ice-making equipment were factors in the decision to stop using the arena for hockey. The Coliseum had been hosting games since 1976 and had hosted the second most high school playoff games (after Aldrich Arena) in that era. That left the Twin Cities without a mid-sized arena, and many section finals in subsequent years were held at Aldrich or Braemar Arena.
  • The Hill-Murray girls hockey team, coached by Bill Schafhauser, won their first state championship.

Thu11/21Burnsville5-3WBurnsville Arena7:00
Tue12/3Lakeville South6-0WHasse Arena7:30
Sat12/7Benilde-St. Margaret's7-3WAldrich7:30
Thu12/12St. Thomas Academy*3-2WAldrich7:30
Sat12/14Mahtomedi*4-3W (OT)St. Croix RC5:30
Thu12/19South St. Paul*4-0WAldrich7:30
Sat12/21North St. Paul*5-3WPolar Arena7:30
Thu12/26Duluth East6-3WRidder Arena2:30
Fri12/27Minnetonka5-3WRidder Arena5:30
Sat12/28Edina2-4LRidder Arena8:00
Sat1/4Lakeville North0-3LAmes Arena7:30
Thu1/16White Bear Lake5-4W (OT)Aldrich7:30
Sat1/18Henry Sibley*5-0WAldrich2:30
Thu1/23St. Thomas Academy*2-4LSt. Thomas Arena7:30
Thu1/30South St. Paul*10-1WWakota Arena7:00
Sat2/1North St. Paul*6-0WAldrich7:30
Thu2/6Richfield*13-1WRichfield Arena7:30
Thu2/13Tartan*9-2WTartan Arena7:30
Section 4AA Playoffs
Sat2/22Irondale6-0WAldrich11 AM

Final Record 24-4-0

Section 4AA Bracket

News Archive

Varsity Roster

Coach: Bill Lechner
Assistant: Pat Schafhauser, Tony Ciro

1Sam IllgenG125' 9" 200000
2Patrick YoungG116' 0" 170000
6Frank SeilerF115' 11" 185235
7Davis ZarembinskiD116' 0" 18021315
8Casey StaumD105' 11" 160358
9Logan SharpD125' 10" 1754711
10Dusty KruegerF125' 11" 185141731
11Noah OndrusikF115' 10" 150112
12Tyler NowakF115' 7" 165123
14Zach MillsF115' 10" 175222446
15Lucas WewerkaD125' 10" 160145
16Josh French (C)F125' 10" 160262147
17Matt YanchekF125' 9" 160538
18Jacob OlsonD116' 3" 21061218
19Joey AndersonF95' 11" 180253055
20Darby ReganF125' 11" 175235
21Jake WittlF115' 11" 170459
22Marko ReifenbergerF95' 10" 165101
24Mikey AndersonD85' 10" 185268
25Jake BegleyG95' 9" 135000
26Tyler Funk (C)F125' 10" 18572128
27Tom ReillyF116' 1" 180112
28Mitch SlatteryF126' 0" 185203454
33Sean WendlandtG116' 2" 170000

GoalieMin.GAGAASavesSave %Record
Sam Illgen1091462.1546491.019-3-0
Sean Wendlandt30691.5012293.15-1-0
Jake Begley3400.008100.00-0-0

Team StatsGoalsGoals/GShotsShots/GPP %PPGESGSHGENG

Mr. Hockey finalist: Mitch Slattery
Pioneer Press All-metro team: Josh French (1st team), Mitch Slattery (2nd team)

Copyright 1999-2024 hmpioneers.net