2006-2007 Hill-Murray Hockey

Section 3AA Champion
Classic Suburban Conference Co-Champion
  • Despite returning only five varsity players, Hill-Murray earned its first repeat trip to the state tournament since 1999-2000.  For the first time, coaches seeded the top four teams in the tourney.  Hill-Murray was seeded third but lost twice in overtime.
  • The team played a record six overtime games during the season, going 3-2-1. The first shootout in school history also took place, with Hill-Murray winning a three round shootout 1-0 against Duluth East.  The game was officially recorded as a tie, but a tiebreaker was needed because the game was part of the Schwan Cup holiday tournament.
  • The Pioneers defeated White Bear Lake three times by a total of four goals.  An end-to-end rush by Nick Larson provided the winning goal in overtime in the first game.  Larson also scored in the section final, in which Dan Cecka scored two goals and Joe Phillippi stopped 29 of 30 shots.
  • Hill-Murray and St. Thomas Academy were Classic Suburban co-champions.
    Both teams went 15-1 and split the two head-to-head games.
  • Nick Larson finished a stellar three year career with numerous honors, including Mr. Hockey finalist and Pioneer Press Player of the Year.  Larson's final totals were 80 goals and 81 assists, the most points by any Pioneer since Todd Norman ('81-'84).

12/2St. Paul Johnson5-2WAldrich
12/5White Bear Lake2-1W (OT)Aldrich
12/9Henry Sibley*10-1WAldrich
12/14North St. Paul*10-1WPolar Arena
12/21South St. Paul*6-3WWakota Arena
12/26Duluth East3-3T (OT)Xcel Energy Center
12/27Holy Angels2-6LXcel Energy Center
12/28White Bear Lake3-2WXcel Energy Center
1/6Simley*9-0WVeterans Center (IGH)
1/11St. Thomas Academy*4-1WAldrich
1/13Mahtomedi*7-1WSt. Croix RC
1/16Henry Sibley*7-0WWest St. Paul Arena
1/18Benilde-St. Margaret's3-2W (OT)St. Louis Park RC
1/20Holy Angels0-3LRichfield Arena
1/25North St. Paul*5-0WAldrich
1/27Tartan*4-1WTartan Arena
1/30South St. Paul*11-1WAldrich
2/3Richfield*3-2W (OT)Richfield Arena
2/6Wayzata4-1WPlymouth Ice Center
2/10St. Thomas Academy*1-2LSt. Thomas Arena
Section 3AA Playoffs
3/2White Bear Lake3-1WColiseum
State Tournament
3/8Rochester Century5-6L (OT)Xcel Energy Center
3/9Woodbury3-4L (2OT)Mariucci Arena

Final Record 23-6-1

Classic Suburban Conference Standings

Section 3AA Bracket

State Tournament Bracket

News & Notes

Varsity Roster

Coach: Bill Lechner
Assistant: Pat Schafhauser, Tony Flint

1Dan McEnaneyG125' 10" 170000
2Joe O'BrienD116' 0" 165000
6Logan NugentD125' 10" 185145
7Tyler ZepedaF105' 9" 155153550
9Tory PearsonF126' 1" 185347
10Tony Danna (C)D126' 1" 19011920
11Isaac KohlsF105' 9" 180111930
12Jake LechnerF125' 9" 1457310
13Delaney "Lou" MetcalfF115' 6" 155369
14Dave CascalendaF116' 0" 170268
15Monte FrenchF106' 2" 170123
16Jordan JohnsonD95' 11" 160112
17Nick WidingF105' 11" 185347
18Nick Larson (C)F126' 2" 185313061
19Jeff WesterhausF106' 0" 18011920
20Bo DolanD115' 11" 17551217
21Ed LeTourneauF126' 1" 180134
22Dan CeckaF115' 10" 185261440
24Dan SovaD116' 3" 19551823
25Jonathan StadlerD106' 0" 180033
26Ryan FurneF116' 1" 185212748
27Andy SingerhouseF115' 10" 175437
33Joe PhillippiG115' 9" 165011

GoalieMin.GAGAASavesSave %Record
Joe Phillippi1092442.0543290.816-5-1
Dan McEnaney465121.3210289.57-1-0

Team StatsGoalsGoals/GShotsShots/GPP %PPGESGSHGENG

Mr. Hockey Finalist: Nick Larson
Pioneer Press Player of the Year and All-state first team: Nick Larson
All-state honorable mention: Joe Phillippi
Star-Tribune All-metro first team: Nick Larson

Copyright 1999-2024 hmpioneers.net