2007-2008 Hill-Murray Hockey

State Champion
Section 4AA Champion
Classic Suburban Champion
  • The Pioneers played their best hockey of the season in March, and finished with victories over the state's top two ranked teams to become the state champion.
  • Hill-Murray was the first team since '93 Jefferson to win all three of its tournament games by at least three goals. Two of the tournament victories were shutouts, including the championship win over Edina. The semifinal win over Roseau ended the Rams' 42 game win streak that began the previous season.
  • The Pioneers never trailed in the playoffs and allowed four goals in six games. The closest game on the scoreboard was a 2-1 contest against White Bear Lake, the third straight year the Pioneers topped the Bears in the section final.
  • This was the first season Hill-Murray did not play in Section 3; a renumbering of metro area sections put them in 4.
  • Hill-Murray played St. Thomas Academy at the Xcel Center as part of Minnesota Hockey Day on Feb. 9, a game that was telecast statewide. The Pioneers won in overtime after scoring the tying goal with an extra attacker and 13 seconds remaining. The win put Hill-Murray atop the conference standings by a half game with one to play, a 5-4 win against Mahtomedi that clinched the title. St. Thomas went on to win the Class A championship.
  • Hill-Murray played seven games at the Xcel Center and won all but the Schwan Cup championship game in December.
  • The team posted the second highest goal scoring total in school history (196), tied a school record by allowing two goals in the section playoffs, broke the school record for goals allowed in a state tournament (2), and finished with the best goal differential in the state (+150).
  • Joe Phillippi was named the state's top senior goaltender and finished four seasons as the team's starting goalie. He backstopped three consecutive section championships and finished with a record of 63-11-3.
  • On Dec. 22, the 25-year anniversary of the 1983 undefeated season was commemorated. The 2008 Pioneers marked the occasion by unveiling new black alternate uniforms and went 6-0 when they wore them, all against quality opponents.

Tue12/4Benilde-St. Margaret's3-1WAldrich8:00
Fri12/7Henry Sibley*15-1WWakota Arena7:30
Thu12/13North St. Paul*11-3WAldrich8:00
Sat12/15Tartan*2-3LTartan Arena3:00
Thu12/20South St. Paul*7-0WAldrich8:00
Sat12/22White Bear Lake5-2WAldrich8:00
Wed12/26Duluth East5-1WXcel Energy Center2:30
Thu12/27White Bear Lake6-3WXcel Energy Center6:00
Fri12/28Minnetonka1-4LXcel Energy Center8:45
Thu1/3Richfield*11-1WRichfield Arena7:30
Thu1/10St. Thomas Academy*4-2WSt. Thomas Arena7:30
Tue1/15Holy Angels4-5LAldrich8:00
Sat1/19Henry Sibley*9-0WAldrich3:00
Thu1/24North St. Paul*14-0WPolar Arena7:30
Thu1/31South St. Paul*2-2T (OT)Wakota Arena7:30
Thu2/7Simley*9-0WVeterans Center (IGH)7:30
Sat2/9St. Thomas Academy*4-3W (OT)Xcel Energy Center1:00
Tue2/12Mahtomedi*5-4WSt. Croix RC7:30
Section 4AA Playoffs
Sat2/23North St. Paul8-0WAldrich12:00
Tue2/26Mounds View7-1WColiseum6:00
Fri2/29White Bear Lake2-1WColiseum9:00
State Tournament
Thu3/6Lakeville South3-0WXcel Energy Center8:00
Fri3/7Roseau6-2WXcel Energy Center8:00
Sat3/8Edina3-0WXcel Energy Center7:00

Final Record 27-3-1

Section 4AA Bracket

State Tournament Bracket

Classic Suburban Standings

News Archive

Varsity Roster

Coach: Bill Lechner
Assistant: Pat Schafhauser, Matt Millar

1Kirk McGinleyG116' 1" 210000
6Chris CastoD106' 0" 18521012
7Tyler ZepedaF115' 9" 155143246
9Nick WidingF115' 11" 200202444
10Paul PrescottF115' 8" 17061521
11Isaac KohlsF115' 9" 185203151
12Ryan Furne (C)F126' 1" 195302959
13Delaney "Lou" MetcalfF125' 7" 175151429
14Alex KellyD115' 11" 17021113
15Monte FrenchF116' 0" 175538
16Jordan JohnsonD105' 11" 17031013
18Dave CascalendaF126' 0" 1906814
19Jeff WesterhausF116' 0" 180101121
20Bo Dolan (C)D125' 11" 18052126
21Jeff SonntagF125' 10" 190112
22Dan CeckaF125' 11" 190323365
24Dan SovaD126' 3" 215113142
25Jonathan StadlerD116' 1" 200145
27Andy SingerhouseF125' 11" 190132033
28Jack WalshF106' 1" 170011
33Joe Phillippi (C)G125' 9" 170011

GoalieMin.GAGAASavesSave %Record
Joe Phillippi1421421.5156293.024-3-1
Kirk McGinley16130.953792.53-0-0

Team StatsGoalsGoals/GShotsShots/GPP %PPGESGSHGENG

Frank Brimsek Award: Joe Phillippi
Herb Brooks Award: Joe Phillippi
Pioneer Press All-state first team: Dan Cecka, Joe Phillippi
Honorable mention: Ryan Furne, Dan Sova
Star Tribune All-metro team: Joe Phillippi (1st team), Dan Cecka (3rd team)
All-tournament team: Dan Cecka, Ryan Furne, Joe Phillippi, Dan Sova

Above photos courtesy Twin Cities photography.

Copyright 1999-2024 hmpioneers.net